Tips to Help You Land that on Campus Job

I have worked on campus, at Woodbury University, since my freshman year of college.  I started off at the lowest level and throughout my years at Woodbury I was able to get promoted.  This means I know what it is like to be on both sides of the job; being the subordinate and being the supervisor of an on campus job.

So, I want to bestow my wisdom on you about how to land that on campus job.

Apply for Jobs that Suit You

The worst thing you can do is apply for a bunch of jobs hoping that you get one.  Remember that even jobs that are looking for students have qualifications that must be met.  Honestly, would you really want to be stuck working in a job that you do not enjoy?  Be sure to apply to jobs you are interested in doing, even if you might not have all of the qualifications.

Two Words, Job Fairs!

Take advantage of any on campus job fairs; sometimes Universities have booths set up for on campus jobs.  When you go to ask for an application, don’t just take it and run.  You should talk to the person who is handing you that application because more than likely they will be a part of the hiring process.  Trust me, as Student Supervisor of the Woodbury University Phon-A-Thon, I have handed out many applications to students and the ones that stand out are those that actually stop to ask questions about the position.

Get the Application in Right Away

More than likely, departments trying to fill positions are going to do it quickly.  You should try to fill out and turn in the application, preferably, on the day of the job fair.  Don’t hold onto it for a week.  In my office, we literally had the job fair and started interviews that same week.  Personally, I get absolutely annoyed when students come to turn in applications when we are wrapping up the interviews.

Include Your Resume

As a supervisor for a student run call center, I enjoy seeing applications that are filled out and include a resume.  With a resume, I can read about you as a person and the experiences you can bring to the position.  Even if you don’t have any work experience, a resume ups your chances of getting hired.  Most universities offer resume building, so take advantage of that service and create one!

If you get the interview…get prepared!

Bring Materials

I suggest bringing copies of your resume, cover letter, etc.  That way if there is more than one interviewer they can have a copy as well.  I would also encourage you to bring in a portfolio of achievements.  One potential candidate I interviewed brought in her portfolio that included some awards she received, resume, cover letter, and some writing samples.  I thought it was wonderful seeing her accomplishments and it showed how much she wanted the position.  Let’s just say, we ended up hiring her.

Dress to Impress

Just because you are applying for an on campus job does not mean you should come into the interview looking like a student.  There is this saying, “Dress for the interview, not the job”.  When I say dress for an interview, I mean you should be looking professional (i.e. button up shirt, slacks, heels, etc.).

The students I interviewed who walked in looking spiffy ended up being the most memorable for me.  I appreciated that they were taking the interview seriously and not showing up in cut off jeans and a baggy shirt.

During the Interview

Be sure to answer any questions clearly.  You also want to project that you are happy to be in the interview and are excited about the thought of getting this position.  Don’t ever answer questions in a negative way.  For instance, if the interviewer asks, “Can you tell me some of your strengths and weaknesses?”  Give him/her your strengths, but make sure that when you tell them your weakness it is something that can be thought of as a strength.  An example would be, “I would consider a weakness of mine to be taking on too many responsibilities.”  While you may consider it a weakness, on my end I would see it as you are a hard worker.

A key thing to remember is that, even if it is an on campus job, it is still a job.  You need to take it seriously because you can learn valuable lessons and your supervisors can be used as references in the future.

Comments
One Response to “Tips to Help You Land that on Campus Job”
  1. spencertucci says:

    apply for jobs that suit you… so true

