Why I Would Major in “My Career”

If I told you that 80% of your effort contributed to 20% of your success, you would probably wonder why you weren’t using your time more effectively. Well, that’s the gist of the Pareto principle, “Roughly 80% of the effects come from 20% of the causes.”

Considering the importance of your first job, I don’t know why more students don’t spend more time on career-focused activities. A good first job can teach you valuable skills, help you build a network, pay well, and help you meet cool people, among other benefits. It can set the trajectory of your life in a good direction. If you leave college unemployed, you’ll face an uphill battle trying to find a quality job. I’m not saying to ignore classes, health, friends, and hobbies. Have fun, but learn how to use your time efficiently.

If you don’t know what you want to do, make a commitment to start exploring. Attend info sessions, career fairs, and career-focused club meetings. Keep your eyes open and learn about different opportunities and find something that sounds interesting to you.

Talk to people! Learn about their day-to-day job functions, why they got into the field, what they like/dislike about the job, what career path it leads to, etc. If you’re interested in going into their field, they can help you figure out what’s the best way to use your time. They can tell you what factors are important in getting that job. If a super high GPA isn’t important, you don’t want to spend all your time re-reading text books. There is so much noise in the internet, it can be hard to know what to study. People in the industry can direct you to books, publications, or blogs that give you the most relevant information.

Get contact information, ask good questions, and learn more about opportunities and industries. This is how you start building a network. You want to put yourself in a good position to get the best opportunity. Trying to find an opportunity that offers a great work environment, training, pay, and other factors that are important to you is worth the time investment.

Comments
3 Responses to “Why I Would Major in “My Career””
  1. Great advice! If only I had known then what I knew now. I wish I spent more time during my college years making the most out of the experiences and resources available to me. I’m missing them now!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This is a guest post I wrote in University Ave blog (link).  […]



