Reading For Fun…Wait…What?

Seriously, I heard it through middle school, high school, and then throughout college, “I hate to read…so much reading…this is so boring.” We get it. We love to act like we hate to read and act like everything we read is useless. Some of us actually do hate it and some of it is actually useless. But let’s keep it one hundred, I love to crack open a textbook and whip out my highlighter just as much as the next nerd. I love taking notes from my textbook, I love making notes in the margin…am I alone on this? Anyways, as you start to take more and more classes in college that truly interest you, reading will be come more pleasurable then dreadful and it won’t be seen as a punishment. Reading really does make you smarter (heard that seven million times from my parents, teachers, and professors…and for once, they were right).

But just because you’re in college, doesn’t mean you only have to read your textbooks. You can read for leisure as well. Wait…read? During my free time? For fun? Yes young grasshopper, you heard correctly. It’s nice to give yourself a break from your academics once and a while and do something else that is both productive and enjoyable.

This post, is for the ladies though (sorry gents). Because I really don’t know what men like to read (unless you’re my fiance who reads everything from Twilight, to Harry Potter, to The Hunger Games). But I do know what I like to read and what most females are interested in. With that said, I have four books to recommend to all you ladies out there. They are inspiring, funny, empowering, give great advice, and make you evaluate yourself and your own life to make it that much better (something you’ll be doing constantly throughout college). Here we go:

1. If You Have to Cry Go Outside: And Other Things Your Mother Never Told You by Kelly Cutrone (This book will change your life and make you want to rule the world).

2. Normal Gets You Nowhere by Kelly Cutrone (can you tell I like Kelly Cutrone? This one will make you feel empowered and flip the bird to anyone who tells you to be anyone but yourself).

3. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling (Kelly from “The Office” is the author of this book. It will make you laugh and nod your head the whole time in agreeance because everything she says is so true when it comes to us females).

4. The Happiness Project: Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun by Gretchen Rubin (This book puts your life into perspective and forces you to make the best out of the life you’ve been given, especially when you’re in college).

Editor-in-Chief, Samantha Tucci

Comments
One Response to “Reading For Fun…Wait…What?”
  1. spencertucci says:

    First again! I read academic books like… Social Media Metrics and World Wide Rave… but also World War Z (epic zombie book).

